Writing Out Loud

My Solace

Leave a comment

While chatting with a friend online yesterday, I tried to find something positive to share with her, as it seems like I’ve been singing the same sad song to her forever, with nary a positive note in it. My life also hasn’t exactly qualified recently for that particular qualifier, but it didn’t take me long at all to come up with what has proven time and time again to be one of my greatest sources of solace.

I won’t go into the long litany of my woes. We all have one to one length or another, and mine wouldn’t matter much to anyone whose own list is even longer. On some levels, I’ve been very fortunate. I live in a beautiful place, I have a way with words (lucrative or not), I have some family members and one or two good friends nearby to whom I can turn in moments of need, and I still have most of my marbles, though their numbers are diminishing slowly each time I take a count. The one thing, however, that never fails me, that is always there when I go to bed at night and when I get up in the morning, the one thing that has never let me down, is nature. One might suggest that I am leaving God out of this equation, and nothing could be further from the truth. For to me, nature and God are one and the same. His is the energy that fuels all that see around me and that produces all the wondrous things I’ve seen since the first time I thought to take a closer look.

So it should come as no surprise to anyone that most, if not all, my writing contains some reference to or bears nature’s stamp. Being of nature myself, how could it not? And how could I fail to acknowledge the very force that makes it possible for us all to do what we do, from simply breathing to creating or own brand of beauty?

I look this morning between branches across the pond, and see in the water the reflection of the trees on the small island. As the light intensifies on what appears will be a bright and flawless day, it’s kissing first one snow-laden branch then another before moving on to include the entire wondrous white panorama. And despite last night’s worries about power outages and the long and morose vigil, I was once again able to place my faith in nature, that she would rise this day, attired in her finest raiment, on this day when much of the world as I know it gives thanks.

IMG_9043

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00JJ259DS

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

Leave a Reply

