Writing Out Loud

Up With the Birds

Leave a comment

cf2f5-img_1570

That’s what my mother used to say to me whenever I got up early. I’d creep into the morning kitchen flooded with yellow light, made doubly so by wall paint the color of lemons that she and my father had painstakingly applied one hot July weekend. I remember the drop cloths and the buckets of paint and how my sister and I were told to “go play” so they could get it done with a minimum of interruptions. The walls went from a teakettle and rooster print against a faded pasty paper background to bright yellow in no time at all, and I fell in love with how I thought a flower must feel at the first touch of sunlight.

Fast-forward to today, to this very moment, and I am sitting here watching blue jays frolicking in the trees, playing dodge’em with woodpeckers and chickadees as the sun unfurls across the pond. Yes, Ma, I am up with the birds! But it’s not because I want to swim in yellow light like I did back then or smell the oatmeal cooking or bask in your great love for me that outdid even the light in flooding that warm kitchen. It’s because words nag at me now, serve as the alarm clock that wakes me at first light, yank me out of bed, prop me upright, and propel me toward my writing-table where I finally set them free.

But I think of you still, because I have never stopped associating you with kitchens or with the light angling through them at certain slants. And though we are a far cry from that yellow kitchen, we are in a sense still very much together…you there knitting a dishcloth and I sitting here across the table from you, weaving words.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

See samples of my weaving at  http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00JJ259DS

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

Leave a Reply

