Writing Out Loud

Changes

2 Comments

A lack of inspiration isn’t always the only reason that my writing pace slows. Sometimes–like this week–something comes at me from the outside that simply stymies me and brings me almost to a complete stop. When the phone rang a few days ago and I heard my little sister’s voice at the other end, I knew immediately that my life up till that point was about to change. She never calls me during the week, so that was my first red flag. The second was her tone of voice, followed by how cryptic her first few comments were until she finally came out with it: she’s moving away at the end of November.

While she will still be in the state, she will no longer be close enough that I’ll be able to stop by to see her whenever I feel like it. She will be a three-hour drive away, which, considering the comfort of knowing she’s always been just a few minutes away, might as well be on the other side of the earth.

Because that’s exactly what it feels like…

Not only has this brought my creativity to an almost complete halt, it has also cut into the time I usually devote to writing, as I am trying to spend as much time with her as I can during these last few weeks. She will also spend Thanksgiving with me and a few other family members before packing up a U-Haul and heading north.

My sister has often spoken about her plan to move up there to live with her oldest daughter, so some small part of me was not completely unaware of her intentions. I never thought, though, that it would happen this soon, and I am having a much harder time with it than I ever dreamed I would. We’ve gotten really close lately and have been spending almost every Sunday together. It’s hard to accept the fact that, once December rolls around, that will no longer be happening, at least not until spring.

I have resigned myself to the fact that these next few weeks will most likely not be all that productive, but I will continue to try to give it my best shot, all the while keeping a box of tissues handy to dry the many more tears that I know I will be shedding.

IMG_6296 (640x480)

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

2 thoughts on “Changes

  1. If I may paraphrase the bard as he said so eloquently, “Parting truly is such sweet sorrow”. We can become so attached to the ones we are close to that to lose one is often no less painful than it would be to lose an appendage of your very own body. Fortunately, three hours travel, though no small distance to cover, is not insurmountable, and if need be, I’m betting you are resourceful enough that you could find a way to get out there for a day or two if you felt you absolutely had to. And as far as your creativity goes, you just may surprise yourself by discovering like I have that mellow, and even lonely feelings, can often supply wonderful fodder for source material. I really do hope things work out for you, and for your sister. Take care.

    Like

    • Greetings…and many thanks for your insights. These last few days are bittersweet until my sister actually leaves. Fortunately, we are spending them together, packing, running some final errands, etc. The fact that she IS my sibling, and thus connected by blood and genetics, does render her a sort of appendage: one to my life! No, she won’t be all that far away, all things considered; and that is the one thing I am clinging to for dear life right now. As for “wonderful fodder,” I’ve had plenty of it in my 65 years and continue to try to channel it into a creative vein as often as possible. You are a kind soul to reach out this way, and I thank you for it. May your own life be infused with peace and productivity! Take care, as well…

      Like

Leave a Reply

