Writing Out Loud

The Calm Before the Storm

Leave a comment

According to several of our local meteorologists, we are due here in Maine for what is best called a “wintry mix” starting tomorrow night and lasting into Sunday. They are also predicting some pretty strong winds, which are expected to knock down what leaves still remain on the trees. Today, they said, would be a mild cloudy day, one that might effectively be called “the calm before the storm.”

I find creative writing to be much like that, too. Before the clouds hovering over me release their torrents of words, I always experience a few calm days during which I am not quite sure of what direction I’m moving in. I KNOW where I should be going; but the impetus is not there yet. And I don’t feel any great imperative to move forward. That is, perhaps, not the most productive way to look at it. But one’s muse can be a fickle being at times, there and then not there, and in my case, she never tells me what she’s doing until she is actually doing it. There is, too, in the oak leaves’ stubbornness, in their reluctance to part with their branches, that same recalcitrance in me about the very act of writing.

I will not give up, and I am not nearly ready to fall off, no matter how hard the wind blows!

eb766-lookingup

Thanks for stopping by!
http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00JJ259DS

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

Leave a Reply

