Writing Out Loud

Something About Geese

Leave a comment

For weeks now, I’ve been watching quite a large flock of Canada geese paddling back and forth across the pond. Almost everyday, they’re joined by a smaller flock of Mallard ducks, both males and females, which, unlike the geese, are easy to tell apart. It occurred to me last week how resigned these creatures are to their lifestyles, and how content they all seem as they bob along atop the ripples and wavelets stirred up by the wind. Like all woodland creatures and waterfowl, they live their lives according to a predetermined set of rules that they obey instinctively and without questioning…or so we think. All that honking and quacking could carry a lot more weight than we mere humans are aware of…

As I watch these birds doing their thing, I have to admire their perseverance and resignation to their lots in life, how they deal with the elements, which aren’t always kind, and how they survive against some often incredible odds. Yet strive and survive they do, which serves me well by way of inspiration. If they can go on no matter what, who am I to say that I cannot or should not? What right do I have to question what’s been put before me to accomplish, or to balk at what’s been given me to overcome?

I take great comfort from these gentle creatures, all the while taking my cue from them to just keep going with my writing, and to not let the choppy waters slow me down. They certainly don’t!

IMG_8583

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

Leave a Reply

