Writing Out Loud

Perseverance Pays, I Hope

2 Comments

I’m still relatively new to blogging, and I am doing this the way I do everything else: at my own pace and in my own good time. I am also very preoccupied these days with writing and publishing e-books, as well as writing a regular weekly nature column for a local newspaper (Journal Tribune, Biddeford, Maine) and doing some online content writing.

Whenever I log on to my blog, I take the time read others penned by those I follow and who follow me. (It’s all about “following” nowadays, thank God, ’cause I’m no leader!) And at least one of those blogs will touch on the fact that blogging can only be successful if two simple rules are followed: blog consistently, which means everyday; and comment on other blogs you read. That’s the best, and really the only way, to “get noticed.” I also read blogs of individuals who have published books in either e-book or hard copy format, and who list all their books for advertising purposes. And not that long ago, I was writing for another content mill where the forums regularly featured the more verbose members of that so-called community and who were always in the forums discussing this or that and bragging about all their writing skills and expertise.

I wondered then as I do now: how on earth do any of these people find the time to do the writing that pays if they’re spending most their time commenting on the work of others???

I spent the better part of the last three days redesigning my own e-book covers, and I’ve gotten good results with the help of a very devoted friend. But that seriously took away from my actual writing time, and so today, I must go back to that, as that is what this is all about, isn’t it? I know nothing about monetizing a blog or how to link this or that within the online writing world. I’ve gotten to this point through much trial and error, because I don’t posses the instinctive knowledge and self-confidence with technology that most kids do today, a skill that they almost seem to be born with.

So I will just continue doing what I’m doing and putting all my faith in that. And if my blogs sink to the bottom of the pile, well, so be it. How many writers were there throughout the history of the printed word who weren’t recognized until after their demise? And if that’s my fate, again, so be it.

I will never stop writing, and “never” is a very long time…

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00JJ259DS

IMG_5266

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

2 thoughts on “Perseverance Pays, I Hope

  1. My opinion is that you do not need to post every day. It is important to comment on other blogs and you will find a great group of blogging friends 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

