Writing Out Loud

Judging a Book By Its Cover

2 Comments

Let’s face it. How a thing appears to us initially greatly influences whether we want to acquire it or not. The same holds true for books. And while we may not be able to accurately judge a book by its cover, it at least gets us interested enough to take a second, and luckily for the writer, a third and fourth look. To that end, I’ve been very unhappy with my own book covers lately, so I enlisted the aid of a friend who spends a great deal of time online and who is adept at certain functions that I am not capable of, nor am I willing to learn at this point.

Being still in the newbie stage of e-book writing, designing covers presented me with a challenge that I was not ready for nor skilled enough to pull off. So, my covers were either simply some of my own photos, or stock covers that a thousand other e-book users have also appropriated. So there goes any originality or personal influence. But that’s behind me now, as my friend has become passionate about helping me with this.

The first e-book I wrote back in April now has a nice new cover. It still displays my original image, but my friend was able to add the title and my name without detracting too much from it or from the message I am trying to convey. I just updated a second book and am waiting for the final approval to come through. But so far, I like the results of our first collaborative attempt.

I must also mention that my friend has also been one of my most devoted supporters and fans throughout my new venture, and I can’t thank him enough. The greatest talents and abilities can often be found among the humblest of individuals who keep their light under the Biblical basket. I’m glad my friend moved the basket away from HIS light long enough to let some of it shine on me!

Thanks, Shawn!

The Snowing-http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JGVYLV8  

snowing7

Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

2 thoughts on “Judging a Book By Its Cover

  1. Yes, I think the cover of the book is very important.

    Like

Leave a Reply

