Writing Out Loud

We Wait

Leave a comment

Trees


I wait with you


have acquired your patient ways
your resignation to fates unknown
and beyond your control much as
you are defrocked each year perhaps
against your will if trees have wills


I have a will


but like you I often let the wind take
me where it will forfeit my power
go along for rides whose destinations
have not always been unpleasant where
there has always been something to learn


And now I wait


not far from you never far as near
as an arm out the window or a walk
down off the deck a drive through
shaded tunnels passageways made
by you in that way you have



Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

Leave a Reply

