Writing Out Loud

Tree…you are not flesh and blood..

Leave a comment

Tree

 
 
you are not flesh and blood
yet you bleed
redeemed by your very presence
and unquestioning nature
while I
eternal doubter
marvel at the single drop
each blossom
sheds for my sins

or are they tears
at my christening
whereby I am cleansed
anew washed clean
because of a promise
written in blood
wine mixed with water
to soften its edge
to ease my culpability
 
or is it both
for one cannot be
without the other
he could not have bled
on you
been torn apart
on you
redeemed me from your height
had he not first
blessed the sea
had you not first
 
wept


Author: raelove1950

I've been writing personally and professionally for over 40 years, and recently started writing books for Amazon Kindle. During the last 25 years, I have also written for the Journal Tribune in Biddeford, Maine; the Maine Sunday Telegram in Portland, Maine; Current Publishing in Westbrook, Maine; and the Reporter, a weekly newspaper based in Waterboro, Maine. I recently released a book entitled "From the Urban Wilderness: Life in the Southern Maine Woods," which is a collection of essays taken from a weekly column I wrote for the Journal Tribune from 2010 to 2016. It is available from Amazon.com and CreateSpaceStore.com .

Leave a Reply

